Healing the Wounded Feminine: Learning to Accept Help

Christel Payseng
2 min readJun 3, 2024

--

Recently, two of my male friends, who I’ll call John and Mark, approached me with a heartfelt request. “Hey Kali,” they said, “please let us be the men. Allow me to pay for your meal, open the door for you, buy books for you, and let me assist you. Let me be in charge and don’t worry about me too much. Ako na, ako ang lalake. Let me be the one to protect.”

Their request was a humbling experience. I’m usually the one who plans, takes charge, and rarely allows male friends to treat me. Growing up without a father figure, I had to learn to be tough and self-reliant. This toughness sometimes makes it difficult for me to let a man be the man. As a result, I can unintentionally make others feel inadequate.

Of course, I am capable of doing all these things on my own. I don’t need to be a damsel in distress. But learning to appreciate and accept help doesn’t mean I’m weak. It means I’m valuing and loving myself. It’s about finding balance, being gentle, and allowing myself to be the lady in the situation.

Accepting help and showing gratitude doesn’t diminish my strength. Instead, it enhances my understanding of relationships and interdependence. I can select friends and business partners who recognize my worth and share my values, including my love for Christ.

This journey is about understanding that accepting help is not a sign of weakness but a step toward self-appreciation and deeper connections. By allowing others to support me, I am growing and learning to embrace the essence of femininity, kindness, and mutual respect.

Healing the wounded feminine involves allowing masculine energy to lead and guide in certain aspects of life. It’s a process of rediscovering trust and acknowledging that strength can coexist with vulnerability. By accepting the support of men like John and Mark, I’m learning to heal old wounds and foster a healthier, more balanced approach to relationships.

In doing so, I am not only honoring myself but also creating space for the men in my life to express their supportive nature. This mutual respect and appreciation pave the way for deeper, more meaningful connections. Ultimately, it is through this balance of energies that we can all grow and thrive together.

--

--

Christel Payseng

Writer, PR Media, Literature Hobbyists, Digital Marketer