In my 30s and choosing not to have a kid

Christel Payseng
2 min readJun 10, 2024

--

In the course of getting to know someone, the question often arises: “Why don’t you want to have children?” It’s a topic I stumbled upon randomly, and my answer was simple: I feel like I’ve passed the age for such an experience. With just a little time left before hitting 40, it feels like a milestone that should have been crossed much earlier, perhaps in my mid-twenties. I guess you could say I now officially categorize myself as “old.”

Also in order to have a child you also must be mentally, and financially ready. There is a certain amount of money that you need to have in the bank to be able to do this. Alongside being able to do your hobbies. So it’s not just about wanting it but being able to afford it. In the Philippines, they say a single person needs 200,000 to be able to live well and feel happy. So I am guessing if you want to add a child. Your income should at least be 500k per month.

I’m not entirely sure if my perspective is skewed, but one thing I firmly believe is that the decision ultimately rests with a higher power, not with me. However, in my mind, what I seek now is a companion for adventures and continuous learning. Someone with whom I can build a business and explore the world.

Should I choose to marry, it would be with someone I deeply connect with, someone with whom I can engage in spontaneous conversations and who shares a passion for exploring countless ideas. Communication is key, and I value a partner who not only listens but also actively participates in the exchange of thoughts and experiences.

Life is a journey filled with choices, and for me, the decision not to have children is a personal one. Instead, I embrace the opportunities for growth, exploration, and connection that come my way. It’s about finding fulfillment in different aspects of life, whether it be through traveling, learning, or building a meaningful partnership based on shared values and aspirations.

In the end, what matters most is staying true to oneself and finding happiness in whatever path one chooses to take.

--

--

Christel Payseng

Writer, PR Media, Literature Hobbyists, Digital Marketer